The body language barrier 

I’m not that great at reading body language or facial expressions, and because of that I tend to overanalyze everything people do, trying to understand what they’re really saying.

If you think about it, most people are lying by saying one thing with their words and saying another with their body/thoughts. To me, it’s like a body language barrier.

Honestly, I would be quite happy if I never had to deal with the politics and social games you have to play when you’re around people. To just be real and not have to try to read into what people are saying or not saying.

The movie “The Invention of Lying” made me see how these politics and social games are actually good in a way (though I still want to cringe when I have to do small talk and such) because it actually makes people happier and more comfortable. Though I may not be happier and more comfortable with it, I can see how it can be good. I suggest watching it if you haven’t.

I still don’t know how to deal not being able to understand the language of the unspoken, but hey, that’s what words are for, right? To communicate when you don’t understand.

*featured image credit unknown

5 comments

  1. askateenageaspie · April 26, 2015

    Awesome article, I really identify with it! Also, thanks for the follow! 😀

    Like

  2. wotsbooks · September 23, 2015

    I’ve blogged about this in the past so it’s nice to see people confirming my theories. I really enjoy your blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

