All of this is me

When I used to think about having Asperger’s Syndrom (I’m sure a shrink would have a field day with with this) I think that there’s me and then there’s the Asperger’s side of me. I was constantly trying to figure out what was me and what was the Asperger’s. I began to tire of pointing out that I did something because I had AS, like a seperate entity is controlling me. While I struggled with this, others who did not understand AS, just saw me as Asperger’s, and no me at all.

I finally came to believe this:

I think differently than most people, I feel differently, the way I experience and interact with life is different, but it’s all me. Asperger’s is label created to categorize a groups of people that don’t fit the norm of how people “should” think, feel, act and react. It’s not something I need to be cured from. Everything that I do is me, having Asperger’s or not. This is who I am. Because I am different than most, this gives me an unique opportunity to show the world another different viewpoint (via my writing) that a “normal” person might not see.

I’ve learned ways to cope with life as people expect me to act. I’ve had to study people around me so I can act like a “normal” person, but as learning social skills is part of all humans, there is nothing wrong with learning and adjusting to customs and manners. After all, we are all trying to cope in someway with what life throws us, some more apt to it than others. We are all trying to do this and remaining true to ourselves, accepting ourselves, and loving ourselves.

3 comments

  1. wotsbooks · October 16, 2015

    I’m glad that you see yourself as whole and complete including the Asperger’s part of you. I think that seeing the Asperger’s as almost being a different person, different persona or even shape etc. is quite common but I’m glad that you have come to accept yourself as being better for having Asperger’s rather than despite it. Ned. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Different kind of wallflower, your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please click on the “How do you want your blog listed?” link at the top of that site to personalize your blog’s description.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

    Like

Leave a Reply

